Friday, 1 November 2013

Intense - Journey To The Unknown

Intense - Journey To The Unknown (Rugged Vinyl Records, 1993)

Intense were the trio of Beau Thomas, Dan Duncan and Simon Vispi and back in the early nineties they put out some first class darkcore on labels such as Underground Level and Rugged Vinyl. They also made the early jungle anthem 'Durban Poison' as Babylon Timewarp and later went on to record more serene material for Good Looking and Creative Source. Thomas is also a mastering engineer currently working for Ten Eight Seven and you can find "Beau" scratched into the run out of many a record.

'Journey To The Unknown' was a b side on the incredible Paradox 12", the seventh release on Rugged Vinyl. It has a dark cinematic feel to it thanks to the use of multiple string samples along with warped atmospherics and a dialogue sample from the scene in Predator where Mac lays into Dillon after he makes a misstep: "You're ghostin' us, motherfucker. I don't care who you are back in the world, you give away our position one more time, I'll bleed ya, real quiet. Leave ya here. Got that?" Clattering cut-up drums that include the Amen break and rumbling sub bass complete things to make this a journey that will give you nightmares.

The track's included on Law & Blick's excellent All Intense Mix:

Law & Blick - All Intense Mix by The Law on Mixcloud

Discogs link

No comments:

Post a Comment