Friday, 1 March 2013

DJ Hype - Computerised Cops

DJ Hype - Computerised Cops (Ganja Records, 1994)

By the time Kevin Ford AKA DJ Hype set up Ganja Records in 1994 he had already been producing records for five years with a background in DJing dating back even further. In the eighties he was part of the Heatwave sound system with PJ and Smiley of Shut Up and Dance and showed the calibre of his turntable skills by representing the UK at the European DMC mixing championships in 1989 as Doctor K. He brought his scratching skills to the Hardcore scene, becoming the top DJ on Fantasy FM and also putting out tunes such as 'The Bee' and 'The Exorcist' (both as part of The Scientist) on Kickin Records. In 1993 he made the leap to Jungle with his first releases as DJ Hype coming out on Suburban Base including the massive 'Roll The Beats'.

'Computerised Cops' featured on Ganja Records Volume 1 and was inevitably another dancefloor anthem for Hype. It opens with a looped vibraphone and vocodered "Computerised" vocal from Zapp's 'Computer Love'. Over this he brings in the 'Hot Pants' break before sampling some dialogue from the movie 'Colors': "So you ain't gonna do nothing with your life, but sit here and wait for Jesus to fall out the sky? That's right". This is the cue for one of his trademark reversed basslines with plenty of pitchshifted drums to accompany the main break. With his background in turntablism it shouldn't be a surprise that Hip-Hop samples were a regular feature of his productions and here he uses B-Real's "Cops, come and try to snatch my crops" line from Cypress Hill's 'Insane In The Brain' extensively, appropriate for Ganja's first release.

You can hear Hype's scratching skills as well as 'Computerised Cops' in his set at Dance Planet's Detonator III event back in March 1994 below.

Discogs link

No comments:

Post a Comment